Saturday, June 09, 2007

2007 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

Gordon Van Gelder just forwarded this to me. See fifth item down on the "Fantasy Award for Adult Literature" ballot. I read it, let out a scream, and raced to tell Gary, who was shaving. Much shaving cream was spattered.

If I say much else, I'm going to sound really silly, so I'll stop now. But, well, I never thought I'd be sharing an award ballot with the likes of Beagle, McKillip and Powers. And the Inklings are very dear to my heart, so the nomination means all the more because of that.

Also, the conference is close enough that Gary and I can go. (I'd been thinking of going anyway, but now we're definitely going.) And my friends Ellen Kushner and Delia Sherman are guests of honor, so it will be old home week, even if we did just see them at WisCon.

I'm very, very happy. And I'd better stop now, before I completely lose any pretense of dignity.

* * *

The Mythopoeic Society
PRESS RELEASE: June 9, 2007
2007 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature
Peter S. Beagle, The Line Between (Tachyon Publications)
Susanna Clarke, The Ladies of Grace Adieu (Bloomsbury USA)
Keith Donohue, The Stolen Child (Nan A. Talese)
Patricia A. McKillip, Solstice Wood (Ace Books)
Susan Palwick, The Necessary Beggar (Tor)
Tim Powers, Three Days to Never (William Morrow)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children s Literature
Catherine Fisher, Corbenic (Greenwillow)
Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Spirits That Walk in Shadow (Viking)
Diana Wynne Jones, The Pinhoe Egg (Greenwillow)
Martine Leavitt, Keturah and Lord Death (Front Street)
Terry Pratchett, Wintersmith (HarperTeen)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies
Marjorie Burns, Perilous Realms: Celtic and Norse in Tolkien's Middle-earth (University of Toronto Press, 2005)
Verlyn Flieger, Interrupted Music: The Making of Tolkien's Mythology (Kent State University Press, 2005)
Peter Gilliver, Jeremy Marshall and Edmund Weiner, The Ring of Words: Tolkien and the Oxford English Dictionary (Oxford University Press, 2006)
Christina Scull and Wayne G. Hammond, The J.R.R. Tolkien Companion and Guide
(Houghton Mifflin, 2006)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies
Simon Blaxland-de Lange, Owen Barfield: Romanticism Come of Age: A Biography (Temple Lodge, 2006)
Jerry Griswold, The Meanings of Beauty and the Beast (Broadview Press, 2004)
Charles Butler, Four British Fantasists: Place and Culture in the Children's Fantasies of Penelope Lively, Alan Garner, Diana Wynne Jones, and Susan Cooper (Children's Literature Association & Scarecrow Press, 2006)
G. Ronald Murphy, S.J., Gemstone of Paradise: The Holy Grail in Wolfram's Parzival (Oxford University Press, 2006)
Milly Williamson, The Lure of the Vampire: Gender, Fiction and Fandom from Bram Stoker to Buffy (Wallflower, 2006)

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2006 that best exemplifies the spirit of the Inklings. Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for younger readers (from Young Adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2004–2006) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

The winners of this year's awards will be announced during Mythcon XXXVIII, to be held from August 3-6, 2007, in Berkeley, California. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site:

The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell,


  1. Awesome!! Susan, I'm thrilled for you. Congratulations! Are you a member of the society?

    Out of curiosity, I visited their page. Mythlore says it's available in eformat, so I'll look for it in UTSA's library database. I printed the "Beginner's Bibliography of the Inklings" since I don't know enough about them. I'm somewhat familiar with Lewis and Tolkien but Williams is new to me. What is his writing like? Would someone who liked Lewis and Tolkien like Williams also? What would be a good introductory read from his works?

    Peace! and Joy!

  2. Anonymous4:56 AM

    OMG!!!!! Congratulations!


  3. Ditto! Hope you're walking on air. All good things for you....

  4. Anonymous2:28 PM

    I just had to tell some friends at Write Fantastic that they were keeping august company on the BFS list. Well, that goes with lightning flashes and exploding stars for you.




Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.